CLICK HERE for latest COVID-19 information as it relates to the City of Fayetteville

The City of Fayetteville is in frequent communication with our partners at the Cumberland County Department of Public Health and health officials at local, state, and federal agencies who are monitoring the situation and providing guidance on how to respond to COVID-19. Our top priority is to maintain essential services for our community while protecting the health and safety of our residents and employees. MORE INFO

Fayetteville Police Department Patch


Call 911 for Emergencies.

For non-emergencies,
call (910) 433-1529.
To make an anonymous tip,
call (910) 483-TIPS (8477).

Law Enforcement Acreditation

About Us

agencyOne Agency.

Carrying on a tradition that began in 1805, the Fayetteville Police Department works to protect the citizens of  Fayetteville. We have over 430 sworn law enforcement personnel and over 180 non-sworn staff members with three districts.

communityOne Community.

The Policing Team provides police services, in partnership with the community, in order to identify neighborhood quality of life issues and provide an appropriate response by police and other service providers that lead to crime and disorder.

familyOne Family.

The Fayetteville Police Department is more than just an agency, we’re a family. With a rigorous training academy, a lifelong bond is formed between trainees. The time spent together day in and day out builds camaraderie between our officers.



The City of Fayetteville was formed in 1783 when the two settlements of Cross Creek and Campbellton merged. The City was named after Marquis de Lafayette, a Revolutionary War hero. It grew as an area of government and commerce because of its location as an inland port and the hub of the early “Plank Roads” system. The City of Fayetteville is now the sixth largest municipality in North Carolina and as of 2014, has a population of 203,948 people.

In 1805, the General Assembly of North Carolina authorized the appointment of citizen patrols. The head of this group was known as the Magistrate of Police and was an elected position. He was given the authority to sentence individuals for violating the law. In 1816, the jailer of Cumberland County was authorized to receive people taken in by the Town Watch until the magistrate could see them the next morning. The records regarding the Police Department between 1880 and 1909 were lost in a fire. (Development of the Fayetteville Police Dept., 1-3).

In the early 1960’s the Fayetteville Observer interviewed three police officers that began working with the Police Department in the 1940’s. They spoke about their first years on the force when rookies were trained by “giving them a gun and showing them their beat.” Officers working downtown knew to go back to the department when someone turned the outside light on. At that time all the lights downtown were turned off at midnight.

Today, the Fayetteville Police Department is divided into three (3) districts, Campbellton, Central and Cross Creek.